Do You Need a License to Be an Optician? It Depends on Your State

It depends on where you work. Opticianry licensing is set by each state, so some states require a license and others don’t. National ABO or NCLE certification is a voluntary credential, not a license, though several licensing states require those exams. Your state board’s official site is the final word.

Last checked . Confirm fees and dates with the certifying body. optical.education is independent and is not affiliated with or endorsed by ABO-NCLE or any state licensing board. Disclaimer.

The short answer

Licensing is set state by state. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics says “Some states require opticians to be licensed” and that “Other states require opticians to pass state-specific examinations” (BLS, checked Oct 10, 2026). We don’t publish a national count of licensing states, because third-party counts disagree and we haven’t verified every state.

License vs certification

A license is a state’s permission to practice. ABO certification and NCLE certification are national credentials from ABO-NCLE, a private certifying board. California’s board puts it plainly: the certifications “are NOT the same as a Registration (license)” (California Board of Optometry). Several licensing states still require the ABO and NCLE exams as part of getting the license; see ABO certification vs a state license.

States we’ve verified on official board sites

Board-verified states (each row shows the date we checked the board)
StateLicensed?National exams the board namesState examChecked
California optician license Yes Board “requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams” Not stated on the board’s page Oct 8, 2026
Connecticut optician license Yes ABO-NCLE NOCE and NCLE (contact lens registry) exams A practical exam administered by the Department of Public Health, with eyewear and contact lens components. See the DPH page for current dates and application deadlines. Oct 8, 2026
Florida optician license Yes NOCE (passed within 3 years of application or current ABO certification) and CLRE (passed within 3 years or current NCLE certification); Florida licensure exam = NOCE + NCLE + national practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) National practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) required as Part 3; no separate state-written law exam stated on the board’s page Oct 8, 2026
Hawaii optician license Yes “All methods of licensure requires the passage of both” the NOCE and the CLRE Not stated on the board’s page Oct 8, 2026
Nevada optician license Yes ABO Basic, Advanced and Practical, and NCLE Basic and Practical (board’s Sep 2024 application requirements; an older board page also lists NCLE Advanced, so confirm with the board) Nevada Laws and Ethics Exam (open-book; Sep 2024 requirements say emailed, an older page says mailed) Oct 8, 2026
New York optician license Yes Written: ABO-NCLE NOCE (or comparable exam determined by the Department). Practical: ABO-NCLE ABO Practical (ABOP), after filing licensure application, passing NOCE, and Department approval ABOP practical required (national exam, approved by NYSED); no state law exam stated Oct 8, 2026
Virginia optician license Yes Written and practical exams. Virginia’s board page lists ABO/NCLE as the exam administrator; board page only; checked Oct 9, 2026. First-time applicants must apply with the Board before registering to take the exam. The Contact Lens Endorsement has its own written and practical exams. Practical exam (ABO/NCLE per the board page), applied for through the Board Oct 9, 2026
Washington optician license Yes ABO and NCLE basic competency + basic contact lens exams AND the ABO/NCLE practical exams (passed on or after June 1, 2015), or the former state exam (offered on or before August 31, 2017 (WAC 246-824-040; DOH’s page says August 1, 2017)) No state-administered exam since Mar 15, 2018 (national ABO/NCLE exams replaced it) Oct 8, 2026

Every other state: not yet verified. Check your board, or start from our optician license requirements by state.

Want it all in one place? The full ABO course has 11 chapters with quizzes and explanations plus two full-length timed mock exams, $59 for 6 months of access. Get the ABO course — $59

If your state doesn’t license opticians

You can still earn ABO or NCLE certification voluntarily. BLS notes that “Employers may require or prefer to hire candidates who have certification in eyeglass dispensing and contact lens dispensing” (BLS, checked Oct 10, 2026).

How to check your state in 3 steps

  1. Find your state’s licensing board on its official .gov site.
  2. Search it for “optician,” “ophthalmic dispenser” or “dispensing optician.”
  3. Confirm which exams it names and whether it accepts an apprenticeship or training program (compare optician apprenticeship rules by state).

Not sure which credential fits?

Compare ABO vs NCLE, read how to become an optician, or see the ABO exam FAQ Preparing for the ABO? Start free with ABO practice questions.

Frequently asked questions

Do all states require opticians to be licensed?

No. Each state decides. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics says “Some states require opticians to be licensed.” Check your own state board; we list the states we have verified on official board sites.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Outlook Handbook, Opticians (How to Become One) (opens in a new tab)

Does ABO certification count as a license to work as an optician?

No. ABO certification is a national credential from ABO-NCLE, a private certifying board. A license is permission to practice from a state. Some licensing states require the ABO exam as part of getting a license, but the certification itself is not the license.

Source: California State Board of Optometry (checked Oct 8, 2026) (opens in a new tab)

Can I work as an optician without a license?

In a state that doesn’t license opticians, yes, though employers set their own requirements. In a licensing state, you need that state’s license (or a trainee or apprentice status it allows). Virginia’s board, for example, says you cannot practice as an optician there until you hold a Virginia license.

Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (checked Oct 9, 2026) (opens in a new tab)

Do I need a separate license to fit contact lenses?

In some states. Virginia has a separate Contact Lens Endorsement, New York has a certificate in contact lens dispensing (which cannot come before the license), and California registers Contact Lens Dispensers (CLD) separately from Spectacle Lens Dispensers. Other states: check the board.

Sources: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (checked Oct 9, 2026) (opens in a new tab) ; New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Ophthalmic Dispensing (checked Oct 8, 2026) (opens in a new tab) ; California State Board of Optometry (checked Oct 8, 2026) (opens in a new tab)

How do I find my state’s optician licensing board?

Search your state’s official .gov site for “optician,” “ophthalmic dispenser” or “dispensing optician.” Our state hub links the boards we have verified. ABO-NCLE also keeps a directory of state boards, which is a useful starting point but not the final word.

Source: ABO-NCLE — State Licensing Boards directory (third-party context only) (opens in a new tab)

Official sources

Last reviewed . Requirements, fees, and dates change — always confirm with the official source before you register or apply. ABO-NCLE and IJCAHPO are the only authorities for their own exam facts, so those facts rest on a single source.

Independent study resource

Not affiliated with or endorsed by ABO-NCLE, IJCAHPO, or any state board. Not medical advice. Practice questions are original and don't guarantee a passing score. Verify current requirements with the official source. Read the full disclaimer.

ABO, NCLE and COA exam prep

See courses — from $59