Optician and ophthalmic tech schools in North Carolina
6 accredited programs in North Carolina, from the public COA and ICA accreditor directories.
North Carolina at a glance
- Opticianry programs: 2 (Durham Technical Community College, Southwestern Community College)
- Ophthalmic assistant/technician programs: 4 (Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute, Central Piedmont Community College, Duke University School of Medicine, Sandhills Community College)
- Cities: Charlotte, Durham, Hudson, Pinehurst, Sylva
- Programs listing an associate degree: 2 of 6; the rest are certificates or the accreditor list does not state the credential.
Licensing in North Carolina
We haven’t verified North Carolina’s optician rules yet. Some states license opticians and some don’t; see the state licensing hub and do you need a license to be an optician?, then check with the state board.
Accredited programs in North Carolina
| School | City | Program type | Credential | Listed by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Medical Assistant Program |
Hudson | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Central Piedmont Community College (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Medical Personnel |
Charlotte | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Duke University School of Medicine (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Medical Technician Training Program |
Durham | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Sandhills Community College
Ophthalmic Medical Assistant Program |
Pinehurst | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Durham Technical Community College (opens in a new tab)
Opticianry |
Durham | Optician | Associate degree | COA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Southwestern Community College (opens in a new tab)
Opticianry |
Sylva | Optician | Associate degree | COA (opens in a new tab) |
Which program fits your goal?
Want to fit and dispense glasses or contacts? Opticianry programs teach optics, lens fabrication, frame fitting, and contact lens fitting. Graduates commonly sit for the national ABO (eyeglasses) and NCLE (contact lenses) exams, which many licensed states use. Start with ABO vs NCLE and how to become an optician.
Want to work alongside an ophthalmologist? Ophthalmic assistant and technician programs lead toward clinical roles (history taking, testing, assisting in procedures). An accredited program is one of the eligibility routes listed for IJCAHPO’s exams; compare credentials in COA vs COT vs CPOT and see COA certification.
Not ready for school? Many opticians and ophthalmic assistants start by training on the job. See optician apprenticeships, and use our free practice tests to check where you stand.
Questions to ask a program
- Is it currently accredited (COA for opticianry, ICA for ophthalmic assisting), and when is the next review?
- What credential do you earn: certificate, associate degree, or both?
- Does it include clinical or retail externship hours, and does that count toward North Carolina’s requirements?
- How many graduates sat the national exams last year? Ask for their published numbers rather than marketing claims.
- Total cost, schedule (day, evening, online), and next start date.
Programs in other states
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Last checked Oct 2026. Built from two public accreditor directories: the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation, Directory of Accredited Programs (opticianry and ophthalmic laboratory programs) and the International Council of Accreditation (formerly CoA-OMP), Find a Program (ophthalmic assistant and technician programs). Optometry (OD) schools are not listed. Programs marked “in the process of accreditation” or “inactive” on those lists are left out. Start dates, costs, and enrollment change; confirm details with each school.
School missing or out of date? Tell us via /feedback.
optical.education is independent. We are not affiliated with or endorsed by any accreditor, certification body, or school listed here.