Florida Optician License Requirements (2026)

Last verified against the Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab). Sources: Licensure exams: official source (board page + Fla. Stat. §484.007); CLRE requirement: board page only.

Yes. Florida licenses opticians through the Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health). Exams: the licensure exam is the NOCE, the NCLE (CLRE), and the national ABO and NCLE practical exams. We checked the board’s official website on Oct 8, 2026; confirm current rules with the board before applying.

See Florida’s official board page (opens in a new tab)

We link to each state board’s own page. Last checked Oct 8, 2026. Rules change, so confirm with the board.

Florida at a glance

Florida optician licensing at a glance (board page, checked Oct 8, 2026)
Licensed?Yes
License typesOptician (licensure by examination or endorsement); registered apprentice
National examsNOCE (passed within 3 years of application or current ABO certification) and CLRE (passed within 3 years or current NCLE certification); Florida licensure exam = NOCE + NCLE + national practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical)
State practical or law examNational practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) required as Part 3; no separate state-written law exam stated on the board’s page
Training routesAssociate degree (or equivalent) in opticianry from an accredited school OR registered apprenticeship with 6,240 hours of training under registered sponsor(s), completed within 5 years of registration (Rule 64B12-16.003, F.A.C.)
CE and renewalNot stated on the board’s page; contact the board.
BoardFlorida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab)
VerifiedOct 8, 2026 · Licensure exams: official source (board page + Fla. Stat. §484.007); CLRE requirement: board page only

Exams required in Florida

NOCE (passed within 3 years of application or current ABO certification) and CLRE (passed within 3 years or current NCLE certification); Florida licensure exam = NOCE + NCLE + national practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical)

State practical or law exam: National practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) required as Part 3; no separate state-written law exam stated on the board’s page

Guides: ABO certification, NCLE certification, ABO/NCLE practical exams.

Training routes

Associate degree (or equivalent) in opticianry from an accredited school OR registered apprenticeship with 6,240 hours of training under registered sponsor(s), completed within 5 years of registration (Rule 64B12-16.003, F.A.C.)

Renewal and continuing education

Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. optical.education does not offer continuing education.

How to apply

Apply through the Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab). We don’t list application fees or forms; the board’s site has the current ones.

What state law says

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to be an optician in Florida?

Yes. Florida licenses opticians through the Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health), per the board’s official website (checked Oct 8, 2026). Check the board for who must hold a license and any exemptions.

Source: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (official site) (opens in a new tab)

What exams are required for a Florida optician license?

NOCE (passed within 3 years of application or current ABO certification) and CLRE (passed within 3 years or current NCLE certification); Florida licensure exam = NOCE + NCLE + national practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical). (per the board, checked Oct 8, 2026).

Source: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab)

Does Florida have its own optician exam?

National practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) required as Part 3; no separate state-written law exam stated on the board’s page.

Source: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab)

Can you become an optician in Florida through an apprenticeship?

Yes, per the board: Associate degree (or equivalent) in opticianry from an accredited school OR registered apprenticeship with 6,240 hours of training under registered sponsor(s), completed within 5 years of registration (Rule 64B12-16.003, F.A.C.).

Source: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab)

Who licenses opticians in Florida?

The Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health).

Source: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (official site) (opens in a new tab)

Official sources

optical.education is independent and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) or ABO-NCLE. This page is not legal advice; the board’s rules control. Disclaimer. Spotted an error? Report a correction.

Independent study resource

Not affiliated with or endorsed by ABO-NCLE, IJCAHPO, or any state board. Not medical advice. Practice questions are original and don't guarantee a passing score. Verify current requirements with the official source. Read the full disclaimer.