Last verified against the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab). Sources: Board page + state law (2 sources).
Yes. Virginia licenses opticians through the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR). Per Virginia DPOR, applicants take written and practical exams (ABO/NCLE, computer-based at Prometric) after applying to the Board, once they complete an approved training program or apprenticeship. We checked the board’s official website on Oct 8, 2026; confirm current rules with the board before applying.
See Virginia’s official board page (opens in a new tab)
Virginia at a glance
| Licensed? | Yes |
|---|---|
| License types | Optician license; Contact Lens Endorsement (separate application) |
| National exams | Written and practical exams (ABO/NCLE, computer-based at Prometric) after applying to the Board (per DPOR; 18VAC80-30-70 requires board-approved written and practical exams but doesn’t name the provider) |
| State practical or law exam | None beyond the ABO/NCLE written and practical (per DPOR) |
| Training routes | “Applicants must have completed either an approved training program or apprenticeship BEFORE applying to take the written or practical exam through the Board.” |
| CE and renewal | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| Board | Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab) |
| Verified | Oct 8, 2026 · Board page + state law (2 sources) |
Exams required in Virginia
Written and practical exams (ABO/NCLE, computer-based at Prometric) after applying to the Board (per DPOR; 18VAC80-30-70 requires board-approved written and practical exams but doesn’t name the provider)
State practical or law exam: None beyond the ABO/NCLE written and practical (per DPOR)
Guides: ABO certification, NCLE certification, ABO/NCLE practical exams.
Training routes
“Applicants must have completed either an approved training program or apprenticeship BEFORE applying to take the written or practical exam through the Board.”
Renewal and continuing education
Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. optical.education does not offer continuing education.
How to apply
Apply through the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab). We don’t list application fees or forms; the board’s site has the current ones.
What state law says
- 18VAC80-30-80 (Endorsement to fit contact lenses) (opens in a new tab): The board administers a contact lens examination, and the contact lens endorsement is mandatory for licensed opticians to fit contact lenses.
- 18VAC80-30-90 (Content of contact lens endorsement examination) (opens in a new tab): Sets out the contact lens endorsement examination and reexamination.
- 18VAC80-30-20 (Qualifications of applicant) (opens in a new tab): Sets the entry requirements for optician licensure, including the required training program or apprenticeship.
- 18VAC80-30-70 (Content of optician examination and reexamination) (opens in a new tab): Applicants for licensure must pass a written examination and a practical examination approved by the board; the regulation doesn’t name the provider.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to be an optician in Virginia?
Yes. Virginia licenses opticians through the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR), per the board’s official website (checked Oct 8, 2026). Check the board for who must hold a license and any exemptions.
Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (official site) (opens in a new tab)
What exams are required for a Virginia optician license?
Written and practical exams (ABO/NCLE, computer-based at Prometric) after applying to the Board (per DPOR; 18VAC80-30-70 requires board-approved written and practical exams but doesn’t name the provider). (per the board, checked Oct 8, 2026).
Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab)
Does Virginia have its own optician exam?
None beyond the ABO/NCLE written and practical (per DPOR).
Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab)
Can you become an optician in Virginia through an apprenticeship?
Yes, per the board: “Applicants must have completed either an approved training program or apprenticeship BEFORE applying to take the written or practical exam through the Board.”.
Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab)
Who licenses opticians in Virginia?
The Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR).
Source: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (official site) (opens in a new tab)
Official sources
- https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/HAS-Opticians (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- 18VAC80-30-80 (Endorsement to fit contact lenses) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- 18VAC80-30-90 (Content of contact lens endorsement examination) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- 18VAC80-30-20 (Qualifications of applicant) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- 18VAC80-30-70 (Content of optician examination and reexamination) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)