Last verified against the California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab). Sources: Board page + state law (2 sources).
Yes. California licenses opticians through the California State Board of Optometry. Exams: spectacle lens dispenser (SLD) and contact lens dispenser (CLD) applicants must pass the related ABO-NCLE exams. We checked the board’s official website on Oct 8, 2026; confirm current rules with the board before applying.
See California’s official board page (opens in a new tab)
California at a glance
| Licensed? | Yes (called “registrations”) |
|---|---|
| License types | Registered Spectacle Lens Dispenser (SLD); Registered Contact Lens Dispenser (CLD); Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic Business (RDO, businesses); Nonresident Ophthalmic Lens Dispenser (NOLD) |
| National exams | Board “requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams” |
| State practical or law exam | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| Training routes | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| CE and renewal | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| Board | California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab) |
| Verified | Oct 8, 2026 · Board page + state law (2 sources) |
Exams required in California
Board “requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams”
Guides: ABO certification, NCLE certification.
Training routes
Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board.
Renewal and continuing education
Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. optical.education does not offer continuing education.
How to apply
Apply through the California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab). We don’t list application fees or forms; the board’s site has the current ones.
What state law says
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2559.2 (SLD: ABO registry exam) (opens in a new tab): The board registers a spectacle lens dispenser on proof of passing the registry examination of the American Board of Opticianry.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2561 (CLD: NCLE registry exam) (opens in a new tab): The board registers a contact lens dispenser on proof of passing the contact lens registry examination of the National Committee of Contact Lens Examiners.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to be an optician in California?
Yes. California licenses opticians through the California State Board of Optometry, per the board’s official website (checked Oct 8, 2026). Check the board for who must hold a license and any exemptions.
Source: California State Board of Optometry (official site) (opens in a new tab)
What exams are required for a California optician license?
Board “requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams” (per the board, checked Oct 8, 2026).
Source: California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab)
Who licenses opticians in California?
The California State Board of Optometry.
Source: California State Board of Optometry (official site) (opens in a new tab)
Official sources
- https://www.optometry.ca.gov/optician/abo_ncle.shtml (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- https://www.optometry.ca.gov/ (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2559.2 (SLD: ABO registry exam) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2561 (CLD: NCLE registry exam) (opens in a new tab) (checked Oct 8, 2026)