Optician and ophthalmic tech schools in Illinois

3 accredited programs in Illinois, from the public COA and ICA accreditor directories.

Illinois at a glance

Licensing in Illinois

We haven’t verified Illinois’s optician rules yet. Some states license opticians and some don’t; see the state licensing hub and do you need a license to be an optician?, then check with the state board.

Accredited programs in Illinois

Programs in Illinois
SchoolCityProgram typeCredentialListed by
College of DuPage (opens in a new tab)
Eye Care Assistant; Ophthalmic Technician
Glen Ellyn Ophthalmic tech AAS (technician); assistant program credential not stated ICA (opens in a new tab)
Elgin Community College (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Technician
Elgin Ophthalmic tech Not stated on accreditor list ICA (opens in a new tab)
Triton College (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Technician
River Grove Ophthalmic tech AAS ICA (opens in a new tab)

Which program fits your goal?

Want to work alongside an ophthalmologist? Ophthalmic assistant and technician programs lead toward clinical roles (history taking, testing, assisting in procedures). An accredited program is one of the eligibility routes listed for IJCAHPO’s exams; compare credentials in COA vs COT vs CPOT and see COA certification.

Not ready for school? Many opticians and ophthalmic assistants start by training on the job. See optician apprenticeships, and use our free practice tests to check where you stand.

Questions to ask a program

Programs in other states

California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin

← All states

Last checked Oct 2026. Built from two public accreditor directories: the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation, Directory of Accredited Programs (opticianry and ophthalmic laboratory programs) and the International Council of Accreditation (formerly CoA-OMP), Find a Program (ophthalmic assistant and technician programs). Optometry (OD) schools are not listed. Programs marked “in the process of accreditation” or “inactive” on those lists are left out. Start dates, costs, and enrollment change; confirm details with each school.

School missing or out of date? Tell us via /feedback.

optical.education is independent. We are not affiliated with or endorsed by any accreditor, certification body, or school listed here.