Optician and ophthalmic tech schools in California
1 accredited program in California, from the public COA and ICA accreditor directories.
California at a glance
- Opticianry programs: none listed by the COA directory for California
- Ophthalmic assistant/technician programs: 1 (Southern California Eye Institute)
- Cities: Los Angeles
- Programs listing an associate degree: 0 of 1; the rest are certificates or the accreditor list does not state the credential.
Licensing in California
- Opticians licensed: yes (called 'registrations')
- Regulator: California State Board of Optometry
- License types: Registered Spectacle Lens Dispenser (SLD); Registered Contact Lens Dispenser (CLD); Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic Business (RDO, businesses); Nonresident Ophthalmic Lens Dispenser (NOLD)
- Exams (per the board): Board 'requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams'
From the board’s own page, checked 2026-10-08. Rules change; confirm with the board before you enroll.
Full details: California optician licensing.
Accredited programs in California
| School | City | Program type | Credential | Listed by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Southern California Eye Institute
Ophthalmic Technician Program |
Los Angeles | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
Which program fits your goal?
Want to work alongside an ophthalmologist? Ophthalmic assistant and technician programs lead toward clinical roles (history taking, testing, assisting in procedures). An accredited program is one of the eligibility routes listed for IJCAHPO’s exams; compare credentials in COA vs COT vs CPOT and see COA certification.
Not ready for school? Many opticians and ophthalmic assistants start by training on the job. See optician apprenticeships, and use our free practice tests to check where you stand.
Questions to ask a program
- Is it currently accredited (COA for opticianry, ICA for ophthalmic assisting), and when is the next review?
- What credential do you earn: certificate, associate degree, or both?
- Does it include clinical or retail externship hours, and does that count toward California’s requirements?
- How many graduates sat the national exams last year? Ask for their published numbers rather than marketing claims.
- Total cost, schedule (day, evening, online), and next start date.
Programs in other states
Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Last checked Oct 2026. Built from two public accreditor directories: the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation, Directory of Accredited Programs (opticianry and ophthalmic laboratory programs) and the International Council of Accreditation (formerly CoA-OMP), Find a Program (ophthalmic assistant and technician programs). Optometry (OD) schools are not listed. Programs marked “in the process of accreditation” or “inactive” on those lists are left out. Start dates, costs, and enrollment change; confirm details with each school.
School missing or out of date? Tell us via /feedback.
optical.education is independent. We are not affiliated with or endorsed by any accreditor, certification body, or school listed here.