Optician licensing is set state by state. We’ve verified 13 states directly on official state board websites; each page lists license types, required national or state exams, training routes, and renewal rules with the date we checked. States marked “not yet verified” haven’t been confirmed. Check their official board.
We use official state board and government pages only, never directories or trade press, and date-stamp every check (latest: ). Each state shows whether it rests on the board’s page alone or on the board plus state law. This isn’t legal advice. optical.education is independent and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any state licensing board or ABO-NCLE. Disclaimer.
States we’ve verified
| State | Licensed? | National exams named by the board | State exam | Sources | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Yes | Partial details only | — | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| California | Yes (called “registrations”) | Board “requires SLD and CLD applicants to pass the related ABO–NCLE Exams” | Not stated on the board’s page | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Connecticut | Yes | ABO-NCLE NOCE and NCLE (contact lens registry) exams | A practical exam administered by the Department of Public Health, with eyewear and contact lens components. See the DPH page for current dates and application deadlines. | Board page + state law (2 sources); ABO-NCLE exam names and 8,000 hours: board page only | |
| Florida | Yes | NOCE (passed within 3 years of application or current ABO certification) and CLRE (passed within 3 years or current NCLE certification); Florida licensure exam = NOCE + NCLE + national practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) | National practical (ABO Practical and NCLE Practical) required as Part 3; no separate state-written law exam stated on the board’s page | Licensure exams: official source (board page + Fla. Stat. §484.007); CLRE requirement: board page only | |
| Hawaii | Yes | “All methods of licensure requires the passage of both” the NOCE and the CLRE | Not stated on the board’s page | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Kentucky | Yes | Partial details only | — | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Massachusetts | Yes | Partial details only | — | Board page + state law (2 sources); contact lenses: board page only | |
| Nevada | Yes | ABO Basic, Advanced and Practical, and NCLE Basic and Practical (board’s Sep 2024 application requirements; an older board page also lists NCLE Advanced, so confirm with the board) | Nevada Laws and Ethics Exam (open-book; Sep 2024 requirements say emailed, an older page says mailed) | Board page + state law (2 sources); ABO-NCLE exam names and apprenticeship length: board page only | |
| New York | Yes | Written: ABO-NCLE NOCE (or comparable exam determined by the Department). Practical: ABO-NCLE ABO Practical (ABOP), after filing licensure application, passing NOCE, and Department approval | ABOP practical required (national exam, approved by NYSED); no state law exam stated | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Tennessee | Yes | Partial details only | — | Board page + state rule (2 sources) | |
| Vermont | Yes | Partial details only | — | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Virginia | Yes | Written and practical exams (ABO/NCLE, computer-based at Prometric) after applying to the Board (per DPOR; 18VAC80-30-70 requires board-approved written and practical exams but doesn’t name the provider) | None beyond the ABO/NCLE written and practical (per DPOR) | Board page + state law (2 sources) | |
| Washington | Yes | ABO and NCLE basic competency + basic contact lens exams AND the ABO/NCLE practical exams (passed on or after June 1, 2015), or the former state exam (offered on or before August 31, 2017 (WAC 246-824-040; DOH’s page says August 1, 2017)) | No state-administered exam since Mar 15, 2018 (national ABO/NCLE exams replaced it) | Board page + state law (2 sources) |
Not yet verified
We haven’t verified these jurisdictions on an official board website yet, so we make no claim either way. Check the state’s licensing board or department of professional regulation.
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arkansas
- Colorado
- Delaware
- District of Columbia
- Georgia
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Utah
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Texas: no board to check. Texas repealed its registration requirements for dispensing opticians and contact lens dispensers, and its contact lens dispensing permit, effective Sept 1, 2015 (SB 202, 84th Legislature), per the Texas Legislature’s bill analysis (opens in a new tab) and the Texas Comptroller (opens in a new tab).
License vs certification
A license is issued by a state and lets you practice there. ABO and NCLE certifications are national credentials from ABO-NCLE; some licensing states use ABO-NCLE exams as part of licensure, and others use their own. See ABO certification and NCLE certification.
Exams that licensing states name
- ABO and NCLE basic exams: the NOCE (ABO) is named by California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Nevada, New York, and Washington; the CLRE (NCLE) by the same states except New York. Virginia (per Virginia DPOR) lists its written and practical exams as ABO/NCLE exams. Also Tennessee (board page: ABO and NCLE certification; Rule 0480-01-.08 names the NOCE and NCLE exams). Study plans: ABO, NCLE.
- ABO and NCLE practical exams (ABOP and NCLEP): named by Florida, Nevada, and Washington, and by Virginia (per Virginia DPOR); New York names the ABO Practical. See ABO and NCLE practical exams.
- State-run exams: Connecticut’s DPH practical exam and Nevada’s Laws and Ethics Exam. Tennessee requires a Tennessee Dispensing Optician Examination and a Tennessee Jurisprudence Examination (Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0480-01-.08).
Frequently asked questions
Which states require an optician license?
Of the states we’ve verified on official board websites, these license opticians: Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Nevada, New York, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington. We haven’t verified the other states yet, so we don’t publish a national count.
Sources: California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab) ; Connecticut Department of Public Health, Optician Licensure (Board of Examiners for Opticians) (opens in a new tab) ; Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab) ; Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program (opens in a new tab) ; Nevada State Board of Dispensing Opticians (opens in a new tab) ; New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Ophthalmic Dispensing (opens in a new tab) ; Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab) ; Washington State Department of Health, Dispensing Optician program (Dispensing Optician Examining Committee) (opens in a new tab)
Is ABO certification required for an optician license?
It depends on the state. Several verified states name ABO-NCLE exams in their licensing rules (for example California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Nevada, New York, and Washington, plus Virginia per Virginia DPOR and Tennessee (board page: ABO and NCLE certification; Rule 0480-01-.08 names the NOCE and NCLE exams)), but ABO certification is a national credential, not a state license. California’s board says the certifications “are NOT the same as a Registration (license).”
Source: California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab)
Do any states have their own optician exam?
Yes, among the states we’ve verified: Connecticut runs a practical exam through its Department of Public Health, and Nevada requires the Nevada Laws and Ethics Exam (open-book; Sep 2024 requirements say emailed, an older page says mailed). Tennessee requires a Tennessee Dispensing Optician Examination and a Tennessee Jurisprudence Examination (Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0480-01-.08).
Sources: Connecticut DPH optician licensing requirements (opens in a new tab) ; Nevada State Board of Dispensing Opticians: exam information (opens in a new tab) ; Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0480-01-.08 (Examinations) (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
How often do you update this page?
Each state page shows the date we last checked it against the board’s website. We aim to re-check every state at least every 6 months, and sooner when a board changes its rules.
My state isn’t verified yet. What should I do?
Contact your state’s licensing board or department of professional regulation directly; their rules control. If you find an official board page for your state, you can send it to us through the contact page.
Sources and methodology
Every board page below was checked on the date shown on its state page. State-law sources are listed on the state pages that use them.
- Arizona: Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians (opens in a new tab) + A.R.S. §32-1681 (Licensure; issuance); A.R.S. §32-1682 (Application; examination); A.R.S. §32-1683 (Qualifications of applicants); A.R.S. §32-1671 (Definitions); A.R.S. §32-1685(A)(7)–(9) (Optical establishment license fees)
- California: California State Board of Optometry (opens in a new tab) + Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2559.2 (SLD: ABO registry exam); Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §2561 (CLD: NCLE registry exam)
- Connecticut: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Optician Licensure (Board of Examiners for Opticians) (opens in a new tab) + Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-146 (Licensed opticians; examinations)
- Florida: Florida Board of Opticianry (Florida Department of Health) (opens in a new tab) + Florida Statutes §484.007 (Licensure of opticians)
- Hawaii: Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program (opens in a new tab) + Haw. Rev. Stat. §458-6.5 (License; application; qualifications)
- Kentucky: Kentucky Board of Ophthalmic Dispensers (opens in a new tab) + KRS 326.030 (Licenses required); KRS 326.040 (Issuance of license; examinations)
- Massachusetts: Massachusetts Board of Registration of Dispensing Opticians (opens in a new tab) + M.G.L. c. 112 §73C (Dispensing optician; definition); M.G.L. c. 112 §73D (Licensing of dispensing opticians)
- Nevada: Nevada State Board of Dispensing Opticians (opens in a new tab) + NAC 637.160 (Examination for license as dispensing optician); NAC 637.190 (Continuing education)
- New York: New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Ophthalmic Dispensing (opens in a new tab) + New York Education Law, Article 144 (§7124); New York Education Law §7128 (Mandatory continuing education)
- Tennessee: Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians (Department of Health) (opens in a new tab) + Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0480-01-.08 (Examinations), Sept. 2024 revision (PDF)
- Vermont: Vermont Secretary of State, Office of Professional Regulation (Opticians) (opens in a new tab) + 26 V.S.A. chapter 47 (Opticians)
- Virginia: Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (DPOR) (opens in a new tab) + 18VAC80-30-80 (Endorsement to fit contact lenses); 18VAC80-30-90 (Content of contact lens endorsement examination); 18VAC80-30-20 (Qualifications of applicant); 18VAC80-30-70 (Content of optician examination and reexamination)
- Washington: Washington State Department of Health, Dispensing Optician program (Dispensing Optician Examining Committee) (opens in a new tab) + WAC 246-824-035 (Examination); WAC 246-824-040 (Licensure requirements); RCW 18.34.070 (Eligibility for examination)
- Texas: SB 202 bill analysis (84th Legislature) (opens in a new tab); Texas Comptroller, Revenue Object 3562 (opens in a new tab)