Optician and ophthalmic tech schools in Texas
8 accredited programs in Texas, from the public COA and ICA accreditor directories.
Texas at a glance
- Opticianry programs: none listed by the COA directory for Texas
- Ophthalmic assistant/technician programs: 8 (Medical Education and Training Campus (military), San Jacinto College, South Texas ISD for Medical Professions, Southwest University at El Paso, St. Philip’s College, Tarrant County College, The College of Health Care Professions – Fort Worth, Tyler Junior College)
- Cities: El Paso, Fort Worth, JBSA Fort Sam Houston, Olmito, Pasadena, San Antonio, Tyler
- Programs listing an associate degree: 2 of 8; the rest are certificates or the accreditor list does not state the credential.
Licensing in Texas
We haven’t verified Texas’s optician rules yet. Some states license opticians and some don’t; see the state licensing hub and do you need a license to be an optician?, then check with the state board.
Accredited programs in Texas
| School | City | Program type | Credential | Listed by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Medical Education and Training Campus (military) (opens in a new tab)
Eye Specialty Course |
JBSA Fort Sam Houston | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
San Jacinto College (opens in a new tab)
EyeCare Technology |
Pasadena | Ophthalmic tech | AAS | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
South Texas ISD for Medical Professions (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Assistant |
Olmito | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Southwest University at El Paso (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmology Technician Program |
El Paso | Ophthalmic tech | AAS | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
St. Philip’s College (opens in a new tab)
Vision Care Technology |
San Antonio | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Tarrant County College (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Technician |
Fort Worth | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
The College of Health Care Professions – Fort Worth (opens in a new tab)
Ophthalmic Assistant Certificate Program |
Fort Worth | Ophthalmic tech | Certificate | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
|
Tyler Junior College (opens in a new tab)
Vision Care Technology |
Tyler | Ophthalmic tech | Not stated on accreditor list | ICA (opens in a new tab) |
Which program fits your goal?
Want to work alongside an ophthalmologist? Ophthalmic assistant and technician programs lead toward clinical roles (history taking, testing, assisting in procedures). An accredited program is one of the eligibility routes listed for IJCAHPO’s exams; compare credentials in COA vs COT vs CPOT and see COA certification.
Not ready for school? Many opticians and ophthalmic assistants start by training on the job. See optician apprenticeships, and use our free practice tests to check where you stand.
Questions to ask a program
- Is it currently accredited (COA for opticianry, ICA for ophthalmic assisting), and when is the next review?
- What credential do you earn: certificate, associate degree, or both?
- Does it include clinical or retail externship hours, and does that count toward Texas’s requirements?
- How many graduates sat the national exams last year? Ask for their published numbers rather than marketing claims.
- Total cost, schedule (day, evening, online), and next start date.
Programs in other states
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Last checked Oct 2026. Built from two public accreditor directories: the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation, Directory of Accredited Programs (opticianry and ophthalmic laboratory programs) and the International Council of Accreditation (formerly CoA-OMP), Find a Program (ophthalmic assistant and technician programs). Optometry (OD) schools are not listed. Programs marked “in the process of accreditation” or “inactive” on those lists are left out. Start dates, costs, and enrollment change; confirm details with each school.
School missing or out of date? Tell us via /feedback.
optical.education is independent. We are not affiliated with or endorsed by any accreditor, certification body, or school listed here.