Last verified against the Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program (opens in a new tab). Sources: Board page + state law (2 sources).
Yes. Hawaii licenses opticians through the Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program. Exams: every licensure method requires passing both the NOCE and the CLRE. We checked the board’s official website on Oct 8, 2026; confirm current rules with the board before applying.
See Hawaii’s official board page (opens in a new tab)
Hawaii at a glance
| Licensed? | Yes |
|---|---|
| License types | Dispensing optician license |
| National exams | “All methods of licensure requires the passage of both” the NOCE and the CLRE |
| State practical or law exam | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| Training routes | High school graduate (or equivalent) + minimum 2 years full-time apprentice experience (eyeglasses and contact lenses) under direct supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist OR graduation from a two-year opticianry program accredited by the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation; other methods listed in the official PDF |
| CE and renewal | Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. |
| Board | Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program (opens in a new tab) |
| Verified | Oct 8, 2026 · Board page + state law (2 sources) |
Exams required in Hawaii
“All methods of licensure requires the passage of both” the NOCE and the CLRE
Guides: ABO certification, NCLE certification.
Training routes
High school graduate (or equivalent) + minimum 2 years full-time apprentice experience (eyeglasses and contact lenses) under direct supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist OR graduation from a two-year opticianry program accredited by the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation; other methods listed in the official PDF
Renewal and continuing education
Not stated on the board’s page; contact the board. optical.education does not offer continuing education.
How to apply
Apply through the Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program (opens in a new tab). We don’t list application fees or forms; the board’s site has the current ones.
What state law says
- Haw. Rev. Stat. §458-6.5 (License; application; qualifications) (opens in a new tab): Applicants must pass the National Opticianry Competency Examination and the National Contact Lens Registry Examination; a national practical exam may be required.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to be an optician in Hawaii?
Yes. Hawaii licenses opticians through the Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program, per the board’s official website (checked Oct 8, 2026). Check the board for who must hold a license and any exemptions.
What exams are required for a Hawaii optician license?
“All methods of licensure requires the passage of both” the NOCE and the CLRE. (per the board, checked Oct 8, 2026).
Can you become an optician in Hawaii through an apprenticeship?
Yes, per the board: High school graduate (or equivalent) + minimum 2 years full-time apprentice experience (eyeglasses and contact lenses) under direct supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist OR graduation from a two-year opticianry program accredited by the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation; other methods listed in the official PDF.
Who licenses opticians in Hawaii?
The Hawaii DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Dispensing Opticians Program.